WordPress Maintenance Page Without Plugins

After hopelessly searching the internet for how to create a ‘down for maintenance’ page and getting nowhere, I decided to find a way myself.

It’s hard for me to understand HTMLs and plugins (if I can understand them at all) so I wasn’t getting much help, not to forget that I’m not even permitted to use plugins because I use wordpress.com instead of wordpress.org, and yes, there is a difference. It dawned on me that I can just fake a maintenance page by creating the message on the blog myself.

Here’s how to create a WordPress maintenance page without plugins and fancy script:

  1. Add a new page titled “Down for Maintenance,” “Coming Soon,” or whatever you would like to name it.
  2. Add a message informing readers that the site is currently down but will be up soon.
  3. Go to Settings ->Reading and change the front page display settings to a static page.
  4. Change the front page to your page titled “Down for Maintenance.”
  5. Change the posts page to another page already on the blog. Don’t worry, the contents of the page will still be there after you take off the static page.
  6. Go to Posts and select all. Click Bulk Actions -> Edit then change the status from no change to private.

Voila, you have a maintenance page. Although this is not the official maintenance page, it does get the job done while allowing you to still be able to edit the blog.

Untitled

This is the snapshot of what mine looked like.

About Sierra

I'm an accounting major at Texas State University with a passion for all things international. I'm going to learn Russian, Portuguese, Italian, and possibly German one day. I've been speaking Spanish for 8 years and my dream is to one day travel across Latin America. DREAM Act 2015!

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your views so please leave a reply =)

