How I Started a Movement

 It was all over the tv and the front page of every newspaper. Everyone wanted to join the movement and the media absolutely loved every minute of it. I was protesting for the equal rights of everyone- maybe that’s why it was so successful. People from all backgrounds could relate to what I stood for. It was a modern Civil Rights Movement.

It all started when I was going to visit my sick uncle. He had some kind of disease to where he couldn’t even leave his bed. He was dying so my family and I went to say our last words. As soon as I got to the sidewalk a police officer came to stop me and said that I couldn’t go see my uncle. I was confused as to why, but I knew my rights. Even after explaining the situation to him, he just wouldn’t let me pass. It was then that he started saying how blacks couldn’t congregate. He was trying to break us up because there were to many of us. And me being the type of person that I am, I just wouldn’t accept it.

In the midst of me giving a speech about how unjust that was, I didn’t notice the large crowd that had gathered before me. It just so happens that they agreed with me and they were angered that he wouldn’t let me pass. Before I knew it, we were all chanting, “Equality for all!” The community was outraged by his refusal to let me pass, and no one would just let it fly. There were protests outside of the police station and at least 5 people were arrested. I felt bad that they were arrested on my account but at the same time, I was shocked and honored that they were willing to be arrested to not only defend my rights, but the rights of the nation.

Things had gotten pretty out of hand so the mayor thought it was necessary to have a city-wide meeting about the subject, but it didn’t go quite as well as he had planned. The mayor was unable to address the questions that the people had and the officer that wouldn’t let me visit my uncle had received no kind of repercussion for his actions. The people were once again infuriated and began to shout, “Equality for all!”

Everything seemed so surreal, and well, that’s because it was. That was one of the most empowering dreams I have ever had. I started a 21st century movement and brought people from all walks of life together to realize that things still aren’t where they need to be. Maybe one day we’ll finally get there but until then, “if we don’t change our direction we’re likely to end up where we’re headed.”

Before God we are equally wise and equally foolish.

The first woman was created from the rib of a man. She was not made from his head to top him, nor from his feet to be trampled on by him, but out of his side to be equal to him.

About Sierra

I'm an accounting major at Texas State University with a passion for all things international. I'm going to learn Russian, Portuguese, Italian, and possibly German one day. I've been speaking Spanish for 8 years and my dream is to one day travel across Latin America. DREAM Act 2015!

Posted on October 4, 2012, in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your views so please leave a reply =)

