I Won’t Stand for…


At some point we have all been wrongly judged or discriminated against. At some point we have all realized that it hurts. We don’t have to stand for the ignorance or the hate.

We are all people. We all smile when we’re happy and cry when we’re sad. We all tie our shoes. Why focus on our differences? No two people are exactly alike. It doesn’t matter if you’re black, white, blue, or yellow. It doesn’t matter if you’re Christian or Hindu. What matters is how we treat one another. No one and I mean no one deserves to be mistreated because of their ethnicity, beliefs, or sexuality.

We were all created as equals. To mistreat someone because of differences is to take away the rights that they so freely deserve. People have fought long and hard for what they have, for what they deserve. And people are still fighting for those rights today. To stand for nothing is to fall for anything, but I will not stand for injustice or intolerance.

Everyone deserves to be seen as equals. No one should be discriminated against or ousted just because they see things differently. I won’t stand for inequality or homophobia. Who are you to say who someone’s heart belongs to?

We are all people. We all inhabit the same earth and breathe the same air. I won’t stand for racism, violence, or religious intolerance. I can’t and I won’t do it. I won’t stand for hate.

What won’t you stand for?

About Sierra

I'm an accounting major at Texas State University with a passion for all things international. I'm going to learn Russian, Portuguese, Italian, and possibly German one day. I've been speaking Spanish for 8 years and my dream is to one day travel across Latin America. DREAM Act 2015!

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Entertainment, International and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your views so please leave a reply =)

