The Power of a ‘Thank you’ Note

image

It feels good to be appreciated. A simple ‘thank you’ goes a long way. Just like you feel great when someone appreciates something that you do, others feel the same way, especially when it’s in the form of a note. Never underestimate the power of a thank you note.

I believe that everyone should know just how much they mean to someone. For that reason, I randomly decided to let two of my peers know. I went to the store and bought a few cards that read, “A smile can make the sun a little brighter, the sky a little bluer, the…” On the inside of each card I wrote personalized messages pretty much saying, “Hey, I look up to you. Thanks for being awesome!” After they read the cards they each came up to me and gave me a hug. They said that I made their day and that it meant a lot to them.

The principal and vice-principle donated $110 towards my sponsor fee so I wrote them a thank you note. They were so happy that they thanked me for being a great student. A simple thank you note says a lot about your character. Your character is the real you. It’s defined by what you do when no one is looking.

Randy Pausch (I talk a lot about him because I just read his book, The Last Lecture) wrote that a thank you note can change the way people view you. He was a virtual reality professor and as he and a colleague were sorting through applications they were about to reject someone. Pausch decided to look at the application one last time and he realized that a thank you note had been tucked away in the application. Do you know what happened? The woman was accepted into the university and was very successful.

If someone does something for you, don’t hesitate to let them know how much you appreciate it. You should never underestimate the power of a thank you note.

About Sierra

I'm an accounting major at Texas State University with a passion for all things international. I'm going to learn Russian, Portuguese, Italian, and possibly German one day. I've been speaking Spanish for 8 years and my dream is to one day travel across Latin America. DREAM Act 2015!

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Entertainment, School/College and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your views so please leave a reply =)

